Grading System

Grading system

There is a grading system in place within Krav Maga for those who wish to assess their abilities, progression and retention of the skills they have acquired under the watchful eye of the examiners at United Krav Maga World Organisation.

Grading in Krav Maga is divided into three main levels; Defender, Fighter and Expert.
Most Krav Maga members are ready for their first grading after four months of regular training. Thereafter, grading, occurs every six months depending on progression and requires regular attendance at training classes.

Defender level (D1-D5)

The defender level of Krav Maga is the core of the system. You’ll learn how to defend against the most common attacks, as well as build your fighting skills and learn how to avoid a situation or what to do after a confrontation. Training also improves fitness, strength, flexibility and mental determination.

Fighter level (F1-F5)

You are eligible to move into the fighter program six months after completing your D5 level. More advanced skills are taught at F level, including dealing with more complicated situations. You are expected to have a full understanding of all the defender grades and continue to keep those skills at a high level whilst you progress through the fighter program.

Expert level (E1-E5)

Expert grades are held by very experienced instructors who have passed the coveted expert test and have a complete understanding of Krav Maga. E levels are normally also qualified to teach in more specialist areas such as the military, law enforcement or security sectors. You can take your expert level exam one year after passing your fighter level 5.

To enrol on our self-defence classes in Glasgow, call Glasgow Krav Maga on